Frequently Asked Questions: Workers' Compensation

Georgia law requires employers with three or more employees to maintain workers' compensation insurance. When you are injured on the job, you may have questions about whether your injury is covered by the program or what you should do next.

Our firm, Nicholson, Silverbach, & Watson, has handled many workers' compensation cases for clients in Kennesaw and across northern Georgia. Here are a few of the most frequently asked questions on the workers' compensation process.

I Was Injured at Work. What Should I Do?

Seek medical help. If it is not an emergency, obtain the names of doctors that are listed on your employer's panel of physicians, which your employer is required by law to provide. You should also report the injury to your employer as soon as possible. Your company's workers' compensation insurance will cover your medical care if you were hurt at work and you see one of the authorized doctors.

How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?

In most cases, you generally have one year to file a written claim. You should also notify your employer about the injury within 30 days of injury, or you risk losing your benefits.

What Can I Recover In a Workers' Compensation Claim?

Your employer's insurance will cover all authorized doctor bills, hospital bills, physical therapy, prescription medications and even necessary travel expenses if the injury or illness was caused by an accident on the job. You may also be entitled to medical and vocational rehabilitation.

Do I Need to Hire an Attorney For a Workers' Compensation Claim?

You are not required to hire an attorney. However, an attorney can ensure that you are aware of all of your legal options and can assist you in recovering the benefits you are entitled to. Additionally, an experienced lawyer can help you prepare your claim with the State Board of Workers' Compensation and can better represent you at your hearing.

When Can I Start Receiving Benefits?

You are entitled to start receiving workers' compensation benefits once you have been out of work for seven days. If you cannot work for 21 days or more, you will also be paid for that first week of missed work.

Have More Questions? Make An Appointment Today.

Our firm can help you recover the compensation you need. Call us at 770-635-0334 or use our online form to set up a free appointment.

Martindale-Hubbell | AV Preeminent | peer rated for highest level of professional excellence | 2017The National Trial Lawyers | Top 100 Trail LawyersThe American Society of Legal Advocates ASLAAmerican Institute of Personal Injury Attorneys GTLA | Georgia Trial Lawyers Association Protecting the Rights to Trial by Jury
Georgia Personal Injury And Workers’ Comp Attorney